# Supreme Court of Nevada ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS

KATHERINE STOCKS Director and State Court Administrator



JOHN McCORMICK Assistant Court Administrator

#### MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA

Organization: Commission on Judicial Selection

Eighth Judicial District, Department C

Date and Time: Thursday, March 30, 2023, at 8:30 a.m.

Venue: The Commission convened in the Supreme Court Courtroom of Las Vegas.

Additional public viewing was available through YouTube.

Supreme Court YouTube
https://tinyurl.com/NevadaSupreme-Court-YouTube
Supreme Court
Las Vegas
Courtroom

408 E. Clark Ave.

**Guests Present** 

Commissioners Present

Chair, Chief Justice Lidia Stiglich Stephanie Phillips, Veterans in Politics

Vice-Chair Gregory Kamer Esq.

Ms. Claudia Aguayo Esq.

Ms. Donna Bath

Ms. Justina Caviglia Esq.

Mr. Andrew Diss

Ms. Margarita Bautista

Mr. Jeffrey Gilbert Mr. Peter Guzman

Commissioner(s) Excused

Mr. Joel Locke Esq.

## **AGENDA**

#### 8:30 a.m.

1. Call to Order

Roll was called at 8:40

2. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum Pursuant to Rule 4.C.

Com'r Kamer made a motion to approve the draft meeting summary without amendments.

Com'r Guzman seconded the motion.

- The motion passed unanimously.
- 3. Public Comment Pursuant to Rule 4.E.

There was no public comment.

4. Interview of Applicants for Department C\*\*

## Meeting Notice and Agenda

08:42 a.m.	Louis Schneider
08:51 a.m.	Gregory Gordon
09:17 a.m.	Jason Stoffel
09:28 a.m.	Lynn Hughes
09:32 a.m.	-Break-
09:58 a.m.	Janet Reyes-Speer
10:09 a.m.	Robert O Kurth Jr.
10:20 a.m.	-Break-
10:37 a.m.	Robert Cerceo
10:47 a.m.	Adriana Rincon White
11:09 a.m.	Timothy Treffinger
11:12 a.m.	-Break-
11:39 p.m.	Kerri Maxey
11:57 p.m.	Stephanie Keels
12:04 p.m.	Adam Ganz

#### 5. Executive Session Pursuant to Rule 3.D.

The Commission moved into executive session at 12:15 p.m.

6. Selection of Department C Nominees pursuant to Rule 9.D\*

Com'r Aguayo disclosed that her organization had interactions with Ms. Rincon White. The Commission did not have any concern over her ability to preside.

Com'rs Guzman, Kamer, and Stiglich stated their appreciation of the applicants' qualifications and noted the difficulty in choosing three nominees.

After the first round of voting, the Commission did not reach three majority applicants. Pursuant to Commission Rule, the top four ranked votes moved on to the second round of voting. Applicants with the same number of votes were ranked together. Five applicants moved on to the second round. Ranked 1 were Mr. Gordon and Ms. Rincon White. Ranked 2 was Mr. Cerceo. Ranked 3 was Ms. Reyes-Speer. Ranked 4 was Mr. Ganz.

After the second round of voting, the Commission did not reach a majority vote for three applicants and ballots were reissued.

After the third round of voting, the Commission nominated the following applicants:

- Robert Cerceo
- Gregory Gordon
- Adriana Rincon White

After the second round of voting, the Commission identified three nominees with a majority of votes

### 7. Adjournment

The Commission adjourned at 1:32 p.m.