Supreme Court of Nevada ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS

KATHERINE STOCKS
State Court Administrator



JOHN McCORMICK Assistant Court Administrator

MEETING SUMMARY

Organization: Commission on Judicial Selection

Date and Time: Friday, February 16, 2024, at 8:30 am

Venue: Supreme Court Las Vegas Courtroom and YouTube

Commissioners PresentGuests PresentChair, Chief Justice Elissa CadishRobert Masucci

Vice-Chair Gregory Kamer Esq.

Ms. Claudia Aguayo Esq.

Ms. Donna Bath

Ms. Justina Caviglia Esq.

Mr. Andrew Diss Mr. Peter Guzman

Mr. Joel Locke Esq.Commission Staff PresentMr. Mateo PortelliMs. Margarita Bautista

<u>AGENDA</u>

1. Call to Order

Chair Cadish convened the meeting at 8:38 a.m.

Chair Cadish informed the Commission that Mr. Steven Morris had notified the Secretary earlier in the week of his intention to withdraw himself from consideration. Therefore, only 7 applicants would be interviewed.

2. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum Pursuant to Rule 4.F.

Sec'y Stocks took roll and a quorum was present.

3. Public Comment Pursuant to Rule 4.C.ii.

There was no public comment.

4. Approval of Meeting Summaries from January 22, 2024 and February 6, 2024*

Vice-Chair Kamer made a motion to approve the meeting summaries.

Com'r Guzman seconded the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Supreme Court Building ♦ 201 South Carson Street, Suite 250 ♦ Carson City, Nevada 89701 ♦ (775) 684-1700

5. Interviews for Eighth Judicial District Department XXVII**

a. 08:42 a.m. Alexandra McLeod

b. 09:15 a.m. Robert Allen Stephens

c. 09:45 a.m. -Break-

d. 09:57 a.m. Tracy Hibbetts

e. 10:21 a.m. Timothy Thomas

f. 10:51 a.m. -Break-

g. 01:32 p.m. David Clayson

h. 1:58 p.m. Martina Bauhaus

i. 02:28 p.m. -Break-

j. 02:35 p.m. Erika Mendoza

6. Executive Session Pursuant to Rule 3.E

At the conclusion of interviews, Chair Cadish recessed the public hearing by stating Commission Rule 3.D requires Executive Session. Chair Cadish stated the Commission would return to vote in public session.

7. Selection of Department XXVII Nominees pursuant to Rule 9.D*

In the first round of voting, the Commission selected a majority of three candidates. The following applicants were selected:

- Tracy Hibbetts
- Erika Mendoza
- Robert Allen Stephens
- 8. Adjournment

The Commission adjourned at 03:31pm.